Skip navigation
  •  StudentsKorean
  •  StudentsKoreanPolish
  •  StudentsKoreanPolishSpanish
  •  StudentsKoreanPolishSpanishTagalog
Extraordinary Lives Start With a Great Catholic Education

Sharon Hobin re-elected chair of DPCDSB




 Catalog-Item Reuse ‭[1]‬


Posted on: 12/2/2020

Sharon Hobin re-elected chair of DPCDSB

Luz del Rosario, trustee of Mississauga Wards 6 & 11 elected vice chair

At the annual Organizational meeting of the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board held Tuesday, December 1, Sharon Hobin, trustee of Mississauga Wards 2 & 8, was re-elected chair of the 11-member Board of Trustees. 

Ms. Hobin is a dedicated supporter of Catholic education and has participated as a parent volunteer on several school councils and committees. Her role in education has been that of an advocate and cheerleader for Catholic schools, parents, staff and most of all, students. She has been a member of the Board of Trustees for 14 years, chair for two years (2018-2020), vice chair for two years (2009-2011) and has also served as chair and vice chair on various committees.

"I am thrilled to have had the honour of being chair of this Board over the past two years," said Sharon Hobin. "I look forward to continuing the collective work of this Board on behalf of the students, parents/guardians and families we serve, and to promote preserve and protect the gift of Catholic education."

Luz del Rosario, trustee of Mississauga Wards 6 & 11, was elected vice chair. Ms. del Rosario has also served in various leadership capacities during her 10 years on the Board of Trustees.

The Organizational Meeting was preceded by a virtual liturgy celebrated by Monsignor Joseph Shiels. The meeting also featured the annual Address to the Board by the Director of Education, in which Director Marianne Mazzorato thanked stakeholders, including trustees, faculty and staff, management, administration, unions and associations and parish partners for their commitment and dedication to Catholic education. Director Mazzorato also spoke about the resiliency and adaptability of students and staff amid the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic.

In addition to the election of the Board chair and vice chair, trustees elected or acclaimed the chairs and vice chairs of various standing committees of the Board.

Administration and Finance Committee: Darryl D'Souza - Chair, Stefano Pascucci - Vice Chair
Faith and Program Committee: Shawn Xaviour - Chair, Anna da Silva - Vice Chair
Board By-law/Policies Review Committee: Brea Corbet - Chair, Frank Di Cosola - Vice Chair
Multi-Year Strategic Planning Committee: Bruno Iannicca - Chair, Mario Pascucci - Vice Chair

The Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board is one of the largest school boards in Ontario with approximately 77,000 students in 151 schools located throughout Mississauga, Brampton, Caledon and Orangeville.

For more information about the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board, visit

back to top